Located approximately one mile east of Council Grove, north of the Morris County Fairgrounds off of US 56. This barn was built by town founder Seth Hays in 1871 on land owned by Seth. This 76 foot long native stone barn stands as the only remaining building that comprised Morris County Poor Farm, existing on this site from 1889 - 1945.
The Old Stone Barn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, was in danger of collapse until some repairs were done in the 1990's. The barn is currently undergoing restoration. It is hoped that one day the barn will be converted into an interpretive center for the Santa Fe Trail.
Santa Fe Trail Research Site
"E-Mail & Home Page"
Larry & Carolyn
St. John, Ks.